CERTIFIED HOME HEALTH AIDE TRAINING NJ
Course Catalog/Schedule of Classes/Student Handbook Information
Everything you need to know is described below. Please read over ALL the information before calling. Tuition and class dates are listed below. If you have further questions that have not been answered below, you can contact the office at the numbers listed at the end.
Sunlight Care LLC provides day, night and On-Line training programs to become a Certified Home Health Aide (CHHA). Our programs are approved by the New Jersey Board of Nursing and we are a training provider for the Department of Labor and Workforce Development of New Jersey. We also provide day and night classes to bridge a Certified Nurse’s Assistant (CNA) to Certified Home Health Aide.
Classes will be held at Sunlight Care offices as shown below. We have offices at:
- 505 S. Lenola Rd., Suite 111, Moorestown NJ 08057 (serving Burlington, Camden and Gloucester counties)
- 2156 Rt. 37, 2nd floor, Manchester NJ 08759 (serving Ocean, Monmouth, Atlantic and Burlington counties).
The Moorestown facility is right on the 413 bus route with easy access from Camden, Pennsauken, Burlington, Westampton, Eastampton, Mt. Holly, Lumberton, Cherry Hill, Pemberton. Bus route info can be found at http://www.sunlightcare.com/healthcare-jobs-accessible-by-bus.html
The Manchester facility is located for easy access from Toms River, Brick, Barnegat, Bay Head, Beach Haven, Beachwood, Berkeley, Jackson, Lacey, Lakehurst, Lakewood, Long Branch, Island Heights, Ocean Gate and Point Pleasant.
What is a Home Health Aide?
Home Health Aides assist those who can’t complete their Activities of Daily Living on their own anymore. Primarily personal care such as bathing, dressing, and feeding services are provided to the clients so they are allowed to stay in the comfort of their own home.
How do I become a Home Health Aide?
The CHHA course consists of 60 hours of class lecture and 16 hours of training in our on-site skills lab. Once training is complete, students will have the knowledge and skills required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide. You must apply for state certification within 6 months of completing the course.
I’m a Certified Nursing Assistant in New Jersey; can I become a Home Health Aide?
The CNA to CHHA bridge class consists of 10 hours of class lecture covering the required Home Care Module. You must have an active NJ CNA license to take this class. Once training is complete, students will have the knowledge required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide.
What are the requirements to become a HHA?
Applicants must be 18 years of age, U.S. citizens or qualified legal alien, and have the ability to read, write and speak English proficiently. They must be physically capable of participating in class work such as lifting, getting patients out of bed, giving bed baths, aiding transfers for those with limited mobility, and other patient related care. The NJ Board of Nursing requires that applicants be current on child support obligations, not be in default of student loans, not have been convicted on any “Disqualifing Crimes”. You will have to pass a criminal background check and be fingerprinted. You will be asked to demonstrate that you can read and write English. You must bring your government issued ID and your social security card to register for the class. If you are not a US citizen you must bring in proof of eligibility to work in the USA. A birth certificate is also required for the Board of Nursing application. The BON also requires any documents pertaining to name changes, such as marriage certificates or divorce decrees. You may bring all documents when you register. Please review the application for the Disqualifying Crimes: http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/hhh/Applications/Application-to-Become-a-Certified-Homemaker-Home-Health-Aide.pdf
I have a HHA certificate from another state; can I work in New Jersey as a CHHA?
Per Board of Nursing regulations, you must be certified in the state of New Jersey to practice as a CHHA. Most certificates from other states can be transferred to New Jersey. To see if your states certificate is transferable, call the Board of Nursing at (973) 504-6430 and speak with a customer service representative. They will be able to tell you what to do in order to become certified in New Jersey.
I used to be a CHHA in NJ and my license has expired. What do I do?
Depending on when your license expired, you may have to take the course again or take the competency and skills evaluation. Please call the Board of Nursing at (973) 504-6430 and speak with a customer service representative to find out which you have to complete in order to become an active CHHA again. States fees will vary and may be more then listed below.
How does the On-Line HHA certificate program work?
The on-line HHA program is best completed on a desk top computer or laptop. Most tablets will not be able to support the program. Please be aware of this when registering for the course. You will also need to have a valid email address.
The on-line HHA program is convenient for those that are unable to attend an in person class. However, you must be a self starter and motivate yourself to complete all the required course work. This is not a program you want to procrastinate on.
You must register with the office you want to do your skills and test in and pay your registration fee of $50.00 in person at said office. At that time you will have a reserved seat in the class. Tuition is due 1 week before the course is scheduled to start. If you register less than one week before class starts or after the start of class, full payment is required. After you pay your tuition you will be given a user ID and URL to access the training site on the first day of class.
An in-person orientation will also be scheduled for about 2 hours on the first day of class to explain how the on-line training works, what is expected of you, how to contact the instructors for issues/questions, and the process of being certified. This orientation is not included in the 60 hours. This orientation will be on the first day of the course at 2PM.
You will have a maximum of 6 weeks to complete the 60 hour on-line training curriculum, the 16 hour skills training and take the final exam.
We recommend completing at least 12 hours of on-line training curriculum per week so you don’t fall behind. You can complete more hours each week if desired.
The 16 hours of skills training will be scheduled for two 8 hour days between the start and end date at the office you register with. These skills must be completed at the office you registered with. If you do not attend the assigned dates and have to be rescheduled, you will be charged an additional fee of $100 per day. You will be informed of those dates upon start of class and they are also listed below with the corresponding course dates.
The 1 hour on-line exam will be administered at the office you registered with. You will have two attempts at getting a passing grade of 80%. The test will be scheduled during the last week of your 6 week course. You may complete the online course work and skills early but will not be able to take the test until the last week.
You can receive a one-time two week extension for an additional tuition fee of $100. All training materials are on-line so you will not need a text book, however if desired you may purchase a text book for $50.
Once you have completed the course work and have taken the test, you will no longer have access to the online training material. If you would like to purchase a textbook for future reference, you may do so for $50.
All other information is the same for both in office and on-line training.
How much do the classes cost?
|CHHA On-Line Class||CHHA Day Class||CHHA Night Class||Bridge Day Class (CNA to CHHA)||Bridge Night Class (CNA to CHHA)||
When is it due?
|$50.00||$100.00||$100.00||$100.00||$100.00||ASAP– Holds Seat|
|Tuition||$250.00||$300.00||$400.00||$50.00||$100.00||1 Week before class starts|
Books/ Reference Material
|Text Book not needed. All reference material is On-Line.||For the Day and Night CHHA Classes, the textbook is included in the tuition.||For the Bridge Classes, a text book may be rented for $10 but you need to put down a $50 deposit. You will receive $40.00 back.|
I want to register for class, what do I do?
You will need to come to one of the offices to register in person. You must bring the registration fee to hold your seat. You will also need to bring a photo ID and social security card. We recommend also bringing in your birth certificate, marriage certificate or divorcee decree or any other legal name change documents. You will take a short quiz and fill out the registration form.
Are there any other fees besides the class fees?
- The Board of Nursing charges between $65.00 and $80.00 for the application fee and licensing fee. This must be sent to the BON with your state application in the form of a Money Order. Please make it payable to the New Jersey Board of Nursing. You will be informed of the actual price when registering for class.
- Lost Book Replacement Fee: $50
- Book Deposit Fee: $50
- Notebook and pens (Bring your own or buy from us for $10)
- Scrubs are required to be worn every day (Bring your own or buy SLC scrubs from us for $150)
- Passport sized photo (2″x2″): A clear picture of your facial features from shoulders and above against a white background. Can be taken at any pharmacy or photo center. Prices range from $7.00 to $15.00.
What types of payments do you accept?
We accept Cash, Money Orders and Credit Cards. Credit Card transactions must include a 3% processing fee for payments or refunds. We do NOT accept personal checks.
When is payment due for class?
- The $100.00 registration fee is due as soon as possible to hold your seat as class size is limited to 20.
- The balance must be paid 1 week before the first day of class to keep your seat.
- If you fail to pay tuition in full, your seat it will be offered to an alternate student and you will have to take a different class.
- You will only be allowed to switch classes once.
What happens if class is cancelled or delayed?
If for any reason your booked class is delayed or cancelled by Sunlight Care you may obtain a refund or apply your payments to a future scheduled class.
What if I can’t make the first day of class or a day in between for the Day or Evening Course? Or if I miss a skills day for Online Classes?
Unfortunately, you must attend every day. The Board of Nursing will not be able to certify you if you do not complete all 76 hours of training. Please make sure to arrange for child care or move non-urgent appointments before or after the class.
What if I need to make up a in office class due to an emergency?
If you have to miss a class that can’t be avoided especially due to illness, there will be make up fees. For half a day, it will cost an additional $50.00 and must be scheduled with one of the instructors. If you have to make a full day, it will cost an additional $100.00 and will have to be scheduled with one of the instructors or during the next available course. If you miss anything more than 1 day, you will not be able to graduate the course.
What if I can’t make the whole class I signed up for and need to cancel?
Cancellation with full refund (less $100 registration fee) will be provided if requested one week or more prior to start of class. Cancellation fee of full tuition will be charged if cancelled less than 1 week before class starts. This means you will not get a refund if you cancel less than one week before class starts. You may request a transfer to an alternate class one time. To request a transfer of classes, please come into the office and fill out the proper forms.
What are the in office class rules?
- Be present in class every day wearing scrubs, arrive on time and do not leave until dismissed by the teacher.
- Do NOT use a cell phone while in class or be disruptive in any way. You get only 1 warning.
- Do NOT sleep during class.
- Park in the designated back parking area by fence for the Moorestown location. See map by the front entrance.
- Dispose of trash in the Sunlight Care office trash can in the kitchen- not the bathroom trash cans.
- Leave class if you need to use the bathroom. Do not wait for breaks.
- Have breakfast before class and bring a lunch & snacks to keep energy up during class.
- Do NOT work an overnight shift the night before class. You need to be awake and functional during class.
- Do NOT congregate in groups at the entrances of the building – no loitering & no smoking within 25 feet of the building.
- Do NOT utilize the bathrooms in groups during breaks. We need to avoid overcrowding the bathrooms.
- Do NOT curse, fight, scream, argue, or be disruptive while in class, outside the classroom, or in the general building.
- Respect the building and the other office tenants- Keep your voices down while in the hall.
I will need employment after the class is finished… do you hire?
We love to hire our students! The majority of our students are hired by our company unless employment is lined up with another agency. However, employment is not guaranteed. Please treat the class like a two week interview with us. A physical and PPD (Tuberculosis testing) is required for employment and we recommend having it completed before class starts so you can begin employment immediately after you finish the course if you are hired. If you would like to be considered by Sunlight Care as an employee after completing the class, please fill out the online application at: https://sunlightcare.ersp.biz/employment/index.cfm
What is the class schedule?
Our Moorestown location hosts both day and evening classes. Please look at the available dates below.
Our Manchester location hosts day classes and currently does not have evening classes. Please look at the available dates below. All dates are correct as of 8/30/17.
South Jersey Schedule
|Jersey Shore Schedule
2017-2018 Schedules for Daytime CHHA Classes
(Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM each day for 2 weeks)
2017-2018 Schedules for Daytime CHHA Classes
(Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM each day for 2 weeks)
2017-2018 Schedules for Daytime CNA to CHHA Bridge Classes (Thursday through Friday 8AM to 4:30 PM each day for 2 days)
2017-2018 Schedules for Daytime CNA to CHHA Bridge Classes
(Thursday through Friday 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM each day for 2 days)
2017-2018 Schedules for Evening CHHA Classes
(Monday through Thursday 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM each night for 5 weeks):
2017 Schedules for Evening CHHA Classes
||2017-2018||No Evening Class Available|
2017-2018 Schedules for Evening CNA to CHHA Bridge Classes (Monday through Thursday 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM each night for 4 days)
2017 Schedules for Evening CNA to CHHA Bridge Classes
||2017-2018||No Evening Class Available|
|2017-2018 Schedules for On-line CHHA Classes (Moorestown Office)|
|(Self-study averaging 12 hours per week for 5 weeks not including two skills days and testing last week of course)|
|Class Dates||Skills Dates||Testing Week|
|September 6 to October 17||October 5 and October 10||October 12 to October 17|
|September 20 to October 31||October 5 and October 10||October 24 to October 31|
|October 4 to November 17||November 9 and November 14||November 7 to November 17|
|October 18 to November 28||November 9 and November 14||November 21 to November 28|
|November 1 to December 12||November 9 and November 14 –or-||December 5 to December 12|
|December 7 and December 12|
|November 15 to December 26||December 7 and December 12||December 19 to December 26|
|November 19 to January 9, 2018||December 7 and December 12||January 2 to January 9|
|December 13 to January 23||January 11 and January 16||January 16 to January 23|
|December 27 to February 6||January 11 and January 16||January 30 to February 6|
|January 10 to February 20||February 8 to February 13||February 13 to February 20|
|January 24 to March 6||February 8 to February 13||February 27 to March 6|
|February 7 to March 20||March 8 and March 13||March 13 to March 20|
|February 21 to April 3||March 8 and March 13||March 27 to April 3|
|March 7 to April 17||April 5 and April 10||April 10 to April 17|
|March 21 to May 1||April 5 and April 10||April 24 to May 1|
|April 4 to May 15||May 3 and May 8||May 8 to May 15|
|April 18 to May 29||May 3 and May 8||May 22 to May 29|
|May 2 to June 12||June 7 and June 12||June 5 to June 12|
|May 16 to June 26||June 7 and June 12||June 19 to June 26|
|May 30 to July 10||June 7 and June 12||July 3 to July 10|
2017-2018 Schedules for On-line CHHA Classes (Manchester Office)
(Self-study averaging 12 hours per week for 5 weeks not including two skills days and testing last week of course)
|Class Dates||Skills Dates||
|September 13 to October 24||October 10 and October 11||October 17 to October 24|
|September 27 to November 7||October 10 and October 11||October 31 to November 7|
|October 11 to November 21||November 14 and November 15||November 15 to November 21|
|October 25 to December 5||November 14 and November 15||November 28 to December 5|
|November 8 to December 19||December 12 and December 13||December 14 to December 19|
|November 22 to January 2, 2018||December 12 and December 13||December 26 to January 2|
|December 6 to January 16||January 4 and January 5||January 9 to January 16|
|December 20 to January 30||January 4 and January 5||January 23 to January 30|
|January 3 to February 13||February 1 and February 2||February 6 to February 13|
|January 17 to February 27||February 1 and February 2||February 20 to February 27|
|January 31 to March 13||March 1 and March 2||March 6 to March 13|
|February 14 to March 27||March 1 and March 2||March 20 to March 27|
|March 14 to April 24||April 10 and April 11||April 17 to April 24|
|March 28 to May 8||April 10 and April 11||May 1 to May 8|
|April 11 to May 22||May 8 and May 9||May 15 to May 22|
|April 25 to June 6||May 8 and May 9||May 31 to June 6|
|May 9 to June 19||June 12 and June 13||June 14 to June 19|
|May 23 to July 3||June 12 and June 13||June 26 to July 3|
For Moorestown Classes– (856) 780-4003 from 8:00AM – 4:30PM Monday – Friday.If you still have questions after reading all the information above please contact Sunlight Care:
For Manchester Classes– (732) 994-0403 from 8:00AM to 4:30PM Monday – Friday